Many know by now that I  have announced I will be retiring at the end of this year.   After 14 years as principal at this wonderful school and a 40 year career in education, I have decided it is time to retire from full time work. It has been difficult for me to arrive at this decision, as I have loved every moment of my time as an educational leader and teacher.  I can’t really believe  how quickly all that time has gone by. However, as this will be the end of my second 7 year tenure as principal at Woodend, this  timing provides me with a logical end point for my career.

There is so much I will miss: particularly, all the close relationships and the joy of learning  everyday with students, staff and parents at Woodend. Fortunately there are also many, many other things I would like to do, including  devoting more time to my  family (young and old), travel and maybe some study.  My last day will be on the last day of this school year.

By the end of this term the selection process will be conducted to appoint a new principal to commence in 2017.  The position will be advertised and the four person selection panel  will include  our local Education Director, Christine Hatzi; a primary principal from another school; Governing Council Chairperson, Karen Gunton; and an Australian Education Union (SA) nominated teacher from our staff. By mid Term 4 we should be able to announce to the school community the outcome of that process.

I really appreciate the kind words I have already received. And clearly there will be more for me to say at the end of the year.

Until 16 December my full focus will continue to be on doing my best for our school.